database

database

 

Our Online Subscriptions (Electronic Databases)...


Access to Online Resources

Digital resources specially online subscriptions of UP Manila are restricted and may only be accessed by UP Manila constituents through IP authentication. This involves that only computers attached to UP Manila network are allowed to access subscribed e-resources. Some of the databases need user and password to be accessed remotely. You may obtain the remote User Password from your College Librarians, otherwise, apply for the Virtual Private Network (VPN) remote access service to enable you to access the e-resources from outside of U.P. Manila's network.
Embargo Periods for Online Journals
A length of time that publishers can make authors wait before they are allowed to make their material online or open access. For example, if an author publishes an article in a non-open access journal, the publisher may agree to a version of the article being made available green open access but not until, say, 12 months after the journal has published the article first. The length of embargo periods varies. In general, embargo of between 6 months and 24 months are common to allow publishers to try to sell more print copies before making the the full text available online .

List of Individually
Subscribed e-Journals

Databases
(On Trial Access)

e-Books

Open Access

VPN Remote Access


DATABASES

List of e-Resources available to the University on subscription. Click the hyperlinks below to access individual databases. (Please see short description of each database below).




 


Database Descriptions: (Click the hyperlink to get you directly to the database website)


CINAHL Plus with Full Text

» Expires: 30 September 2017

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.


ClinicalKey

»  Subscription trial period : March 6, 2017 until May 15, 2017
»  Subscription period starts May 16, 2017 up to May 15, 2018

ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that helps doctors, nurses and other health professionals make better decisions anywhere, anytime, in any patient scenario.ClinicalKey adapts to your schedule, workflow preferences and information needs, making it easier for you to find and apply relevant knowledge quickly.


Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source

» Expires: December 2016
» Access: On campus within UP Manila

Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.


Doody's Core Titles

» Secure from your College Librarian the DCT access credential.

Doody Enterprises, Inc. (Doody's) is an authoritative medical book review service, designed to assist medical libraries and institutions with their purchasing decisions.Titles are reviewed by medical librarians and content specialists, and key selections are compiled into an annual list known as Doody's Core Titles (DCT), which highlights the best titles published within a variety of medical specialties. This list updates each year in May. Click here for more information on the Core Title Selection Process.


EBSCOHost Databases

 

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals

 

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.

 

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,200 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 1,000 periodicals

 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

 

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source

Dentistry & Oral Science Source covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.


Emerald Insight

» Expires on: June 2016 (Funded by Philippine eLib)
» Access: On campus within UP System

Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. The company manages a portfolio of over 290 journals and over 2,500 books and book series volumes. Read more...

Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. The company manages a portfolio of over 290 journals and over 2,500 books and book series volumes.

Read more about us...

- See more at: http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/about/index.htm#sthash.XrQSy14N.dpuf

Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. The company manages a portfolio of over 290 journals and over 2,500 books and book series volumes.

Read more about us...

- See more at: http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/about/index.htm#sthash.XrQSy14N.dpuf


Gale Science in Context

» Expires on: June 2016 (Funded by Philippine eLib)
» Access: On campus within UP System: )

Science in Context is an engaging online resource providing contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, Science in Context draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity.


Gale Virtual Reference Library

» Expires on: No expiration: Perpetual
» Access: On campus, UP System and Remote (Off-campus)

A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).


General OneFile

» (Funded by Philippine eLib)
» Access: On campus and Remote (Please ask your librarian for the password)

General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.


IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)

Access: On Campus; UP System
An online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications. [Funded by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) for the Engineering Research and Development for Technology (ERDT) Program]


IEEE Xplore

» Access: On campus within UP System

An online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEEE publications. [Funded by the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) for the Engineering Research and Development for Technology (ERDT) Program]


Journals@Ovid

» Expires on: Perpetual
» Access: On campus within UP Manila

Please check first the complete list of journals being subscribed with this platform and their access coverage by clicking the list link.

List of medical journals included in Ovid journals subscription (74 titles)


JSTOR

» Expires: Mar. 24 - April 23, 2017 (Trial Access)
» Access: On campus within UP Manila

JSTOR (short for Journal Storage) is a digital library founded in 1995. Originally containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.


Medical Teacher

» Expires: December 2017
» Access: On campus within UP Manila

Medical Teacher addresses the needs of teachers and administrators throughout the world involved in training for the health professions. This includes courses at basic and post-basic levels, as well as the increasingly important area of continuing education. It provides accounts of new teaching methods, guidance on structuring courses and assessing achievement, and serves as a forum for communication between medical teachers and those involved in general education. In particular, the journal recognizes the problems teachers have in keeping up-to-date with the developments in educational methods that lead to more effective teaching and learning at a time when the content of the curriculum—from medical procedures to policy changes in health care provision—is also changing. The journal features reports of innovation and research in medical education, case studies, survey articles, practical guidelines, reviews of current literature and book reviews. All articles are peer reviewed.


Micromedex

» Expires: April 2017
» Access: Login password required, secure from your librarian.

The evidence-based resources of Micromedex® Solutions are used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. The industry standard for more than 40 years, Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information — from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education. And, now hospitals can use Micromedex evidence and real-time clinical surveillance to proactively find and administer preventative care to high-risk patients to help prevent or mitigate Avoidable Drug Events, Hospital-Acquired Infections, and more.


Philippine E-Journals

» Expires on: June 2016 (Funded by Philippine eLib)
» Access: On campus within UP System:

The Philippine E-Journals is an expanding collection of academic journals that are made accessible globally through a single Web-based platform. It is hosted by C&E Publishing, Inc., a premier educational publisher in the Philippines and a leader in the distribution of integrated information-based solutions which include e-learning products, library automation and interactive media systems, and online library resources containing databases, e-books, and online journals. Read more...


Proquest Central

» Expires on: June 2016 (Funded by Philippine eLib)
» Access: On campus within UP System:

A a complete online database package which consists of the following databases: ABI/INFORM Global, Academic and Research Library, Nursing & Allied Health Source, ProQuest Agriculture Journals, ProQuest Biology Journals, ProQuest Computing, ProQuest Education Journals, ProQuest Medical Library, ProQuest Science Journals, ProQuest Social Science Journals, and the U.S. National Newspaper Abstracts.


ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

» Our library is currently trialing the database for a limited time. Courtesy of Philippine eLib

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Read more...


ScienceDirect

» [Expires on:   ]

» Access: On campus within UP System: Funded by Philippine eLib

The world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

Subjects with current contents (1995 to date): Agricultural and Biological Sciences; Arts and Humanities; Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology; Business, Management and Accounting; Chemical Engineering; Chemistry; Computer Science; Decision Sciences; Earth and Planetary Sciences; Economics, Econometrics and Finance; Energy; Engineering; Environmental Science; Health Sciences; Immunology and Microbiology; Neuroscience; Psychology; Physics and Astronomy; and Social Sciences.

Subjects with archives (Backfiles) (issues published before 1995): Chemical Engineering; Energy and Power; Environmental Science; Inorganic Chemistry; Mathematics; Social Science; Forensic Medicine, Pathology & Medical Technology; Orthopedics, Sports Medicine & Rehabilitation; and Public Health & Health Policy.


Scopus

» Expires on:
» Access: On campus within UP System:

Scopus, launched in November 2004, is the largest abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, Scopus offers researchers a quick, easy and comprehensive resource to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.


SpringerLink: eJournals

» Access: On campus within UP System


UpToDate

» Expires: 2018

» Access: On campus within UP Manila (can be accessed remotely upon registration)

UpToDate clinical decision support is a trusted resource that is proven to improve outcomes for healthcare organizations. Access to this powerful evidence-based content is now available to clinicians at the office, at home, or at patients' bedside with an UpToDate Anywhere license




 

The University Librarian

 

Gina G. Canceran, MLIS
University Librarian

Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Telephone: (632)  526-4253

Tele/Fax: (632) 526-5847